My Goals for 2016

[Update – March 4, 2016 – this post was written in the first week of January of this year, but I hadn’t gotten a chance to finish my list of goals. I wanted to do 16 for 2016, although at the time of writing, I was only at about 7 (in no particular order). After much thought, I changed my mind and decided I’m not going to make this some clever, marketable post like “16 for ’16,” but instead that it should focus on what it’s supposed to focus on: my goals. So here are my (idk how many) goals that are important to me this year.]

Each year, we get a chance to renew our outlook on life. Actually, each week, day, and minute, we get that same opportunity; but most of us choose to use January 1st as the official “New Year, New Me” day to declare changes, resolutions, ambitions, etc. I don’t believe in that. But I do use the new year as a timeline to develop new habits, learn new skills, and test my own limits and capabilities.

So using the new year simply as a measurement (while recognizing that each and every day — new year or not — we can make the changes in our life that we are wanting to make; we can set goals, we can make plans, we can execute actions to bring us closer to our dreams).

There is a certain principle about goals that a lot of us learn in grade school: that we should be making smart goals. Not just smart goals, but also ‘S.M.A.R.T.’ goals (which stands for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Time-bound). All goals need an action plan, and all action plans need specificity and a way to measure the realization of that goal.

I have given it some thought, and below is list of my goals for 2016 (in no particular order). I’ve also colour coded the headings: red ► means not complete/on its way to non-completion; yellow ► means potentially fulfilled (used mostly for long term goals i.e. do something consistently each month throughout the year); and green ► is ‘so far so good!’

I plan to come back to this post periodically to update my action plans and progress on each of these.

You can also read my Happy New Year 2014 post here.

Go on a road trip

 

Close 10+ real estate deals

 

Win/place in a national pageant

 

Read 12 novels in 12 months

January’s novel was That Night by Alice McDermott (finished 00/00/2016)February’s novel The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (finished 00/00/2016). March’s novel is…

Try 2 new styles of dance

 

Visit a foreign country (not including Canada, India, or the US)

 

Choreograph and film 1 dance routine each month

January’s dance was a semi-classical Kathak piece on a Marathi song, sung by Shankar Mahadevan, called Sur Niragas Ho from the Marathi film, Katyar Kaljat Ghusali [video].

February’s dance was an upbeat, classical Kathak nritta (pure dance) piece for the North American Culture Show, representing York University, in which the song (theme song of Narcos, trap mix) was the soundtrack to fit the “gangsters and mobsters” theme of the performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre [video] (Kathak segment starts at 2m:50s).

Be in a magazine

I was featured in Desi News (March 2015) (volume 20, issue 3). Link to the article is here.

Write at least 1 restaurant review and 1 recipe on my blog monthly

 

Choreograph/direct at least 1 large-scale dance or stage production

I had the honour of being the Classical Choreographer for the York University South Asian Alliance dance team at NACS 2016. Watch the video here. Photos coming soon on their own blog post.

Visit 20 natural attractions in Ontario & blog about them

 

Buy an investment property

I think the ‘R’ of S.M.A.R.T. is missing here. This is potentially not happening this year, but it is a goal of mine. I might push it to 2017 based on how the first half of the year goes.

Increase blog readership to 200+

March 4 2016 = 103 subscribers.

Leave a Reply

